## Extract from Hansard

[ASSEMBLY — Thursday, 22 February 2024] p325c-326a Ms Emily Hamilton

## JOONDALUP DISTRICTS CRICKET CLUB

Statement by Member for Joondalup

MS E.L. HAMILTON (Joondalup) [12.40 pm]: Today I rise to congratulate the Joondalup Districts Cricket Club on its 125<sup>th</sup> anniversary. Originally established as the North Perth Cricket Club in 1898, the club relocated to the Iluka Sports Complex, now known as the Joondalup Sports Association, in the Joondalup electorate in 2000. I am told that although it took a number of years to become fully established, the club is now one of the most successful in the WACA district cricket competition, having won 16 first-grade premierships, including two since its relocation.

Joondalup Districts Cricket Club has played a key role in the development of Western Australia's and Australia's most successful cricketers, providing a pathway for talented young cricketers from local junior community clubs to a higher competition. One of the club's current players, Josh Inglis, was recently part of the victorious Australian team at the 2023 Cricket World Cup, which was held in India. Past player Michael Veletta was in the winning 1987 Australian team.

Joondalup is the only district cricket club that has two teams in the WACA's under-13s, under-14s, under-15s and under-17s competitions, providing additional opportunities for young cricketers in the Joondalup region. Next season, the club will field an under-14s girls' side, which is fantastic.

Last year, I had the pleasure of presenting some very excited junior players from our community clubs with their first Joondalup Districts Cricket Club baggy green caps at the club's presentation evening. I have long been an advocate for increased women's participation in sport and will continue to ensure that we invest in high-quality community and sporting infrastructure so that all members of our community can participate in sport. This includes supporting the club in its quest to upgrade the lighting for the training nets.

We know that local sports clubs could not survive without the tremendous contribution of volunteers. I would like to acknowledge each and every one of the volunteers at the club, including committee members, president Craig Gerrans, vice president Paul Cox, junior president Matt Hochen, treasurer David McGlade and secretary Mark Calverley, some of whom are in the chamber today.

Once again, I congratulate the club on reaching the significant milestone of its 125<sup>th</sup> anniversary. I wish it every continued success on field and in the development of young cricketers.